Yiheng Yvonne Wu

Composer Yvonne Wu (b.1981, Taiwan) earned a Ph.D. and M.A in Music from the University of California, San Diego and a B.A. in Music from Yale University. Her works have been performed in the US, Canada, Taiwan, and Germany and have been premiered by the La Jolla Symphony conducted by Steven Schick, Arraymusic, Palimpsest, Ensemble SurPlus, Bonnie Whiting, Jessica Aszodi, Carla Rees, Rachel Beetz, and Dustin Donahue, among others. Her music has been featured in the WasteLAnd concert series, Aspen Music Festival, and Schloss Solitude Summer Academy. As the winner of the 5th Mivos/Kanter String Quartet Composition Prize, her work Utterance will be performed by the Mivos Quartet in October 2016. She was a prize winner in the 2004 Formosa Composition Competition and was awarded the Abraham Beekman Cox Prize at Yale. Primary composition teachers have included Katharina Rosenberger, Kathryn Alexander, John Halle, Sophia Serghi, and Steven Takasugi. Since the Fall of 2016, she is Assistant Professor of Music at Beloit College, where she teaches composition, sound studies, theory, and leads the InterArts Ensemble.

download Selected Works List

soundcloud page      

Selected Compositions

Dreams of a Young Piano for solo piano, two percussionists, and ensemble (2014/2016) (20')

first movement

second movement

Kyle Adam Blair, solo piano
Fiona Digney and Sean Dowgray, percussion
Michael Matsuno and Rachel Beetz, flute
Michiko Ogawa, clarinet in Bb
Samuel Dumscombe, clarinet in Bb/bass clarinet
Jane Zwerneman, horn
Rachel Allen, trumpet
Keir GoGwilt, violin
Judith Hamann, cello
Mark Dresser, contrabass
Stephen Lewis, conductor
recorded at University of California, San Diego, May 2016
Andrew Munsey, recording engineer

Duo for Flute and Percussion (2014) (16'04")

Duo for Flute and Percussion

Rachel Beetz, C flute and bass flute
Dustin Donahue, percussion

Studio recording at UC San Diego, Department of Music
March 2014

Transcriptions of Place (2012) (9'43")

Transcriptions of Place

La Jolla Symphony
Steven Schick, conductor

Transcriptions of Place was the Thomas Nee Commission for the La Jolla Symphony's 2012-2013 season.
premiered at UC San Diego, Mandeville Auditorium
March 16, 2013

Four Poems of Li-Young Lee (2012) (13'41")

Four Poems of Li-Young Lee

Jessica Aszodi, soprano
Bonnie Whiting Smith, speaking percussionist
Premiered at UC San Diego, Conrad Prebys Music Center, Recital Hall
January 19, 2013

Li-Young Lee, “The Weight of Sweetness” from Rose. Copyright © 1986 by Li-Young Lee. “One Heart” and “Out of Hiding” from Book of My Nights. Copyright © 2001 by Li-Young Lee. All used with the permission of The Permissions Company, Inc. on behalf of BOA Editions Ltd., wwwboaeditions.org. All rights reserved worldwide.
“Station” from BEHIND MY EYES by Li-Young Lee. Copyright © 2008 by Li-Young Lee. Used by permission of W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.

Stills; edges. Five small pieces and some number of interludes and moments. (2010/Revised 2011) (16'26")

Stills; edges

Berglind Tomasdottir, flute/alto flute
Curt Miller, clarinet in Bb/bass clarinet
Batya MacAdam-Somer, violin
David Medine, viola
Jennifer Bewerse, cello
Eric Derr, percussion
Todd Moellenberg, piano
Nicholas Deyoe, conductor

Studio recording at UC San Diego, Department of Music
February 2012